SPAE holds its annual meeting during the annual ASPA National Conference, with a term year of March 1 to February 28/29. Elected Officers and Executive Board members serve two-year terms. The Chair, Chair-Elect and Executive Board Members are elected just prior to the annual meeting of the Section, and the Treasurer and Secretary are appointed from among the membership (including the Executive Committee). No elected representative may hold more than one elected position.

If you are interested in providing service to the profession through any of these positions, please notify the current Chair so your name will be included in the nominations for the next ballot or appointments, as appropriate. We need your active engagement for a vibrant section!


Officer Board Terms: 2020 – 2022

Chair: Lois M. Warner, Assistant Teaching Professor, Rutgers University – Newark   lmrs@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Chair-Elect: Stephanie Dolamore, Assistant Professor of Public Administration,  Gallaudet University.    Stephanie.Dolamore@gallaudet.edu

Treasurer: Theodore Byrne, California State University – Dominguez Hills  tbyrne@csudh.edu

Secretary: Position Currently Vacant

Global Board Representative: John Diamond, Professor and Director for Public Policy and Professional Practice,  Edge Hill University, UK diamondj@edgehill.ac.uk

Board Member Terms 2021-2023

Lindsey Evans,  Associate Professor, L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs, Virginia Commonwealth University, (evansll@vcu.edu)

Roseanne Mirabella,  Professor of  Political Science and Public Affairs Seton Hall University,( Roseanne.mirabella@shu.edu)


Helisse Levine,  Professor of Public Administration, Long Island Island University,  (helisse.levine@liu.edu)


Board Member Terms 2020 – 2022

Wendy Bolyard, University of Colorado Denver School of Public Affairs, CO wendy.bolyard@ucdenver.edu 

Gregg Buckingham, School of Public Administration College of Community Innovation and Education, University of Central Florida, FL gregg.buckingham@ucf.edu

Rachel Emas, Assistant Teaching Professor, Rutgers University – Newark  rachel.emas@rutgers.edu>

Alexander C. Heckman, Chair, Department of Public Administration, Franklin University alexander.heckman@franklin.edu

Web Administrator

Brad Johnson – Ph.D. Student, North Carolina State University (Previously an urban planner and co-founded a software company to manage public involvement)  Bajohn22@ncsu.edu