SPAE holds its annual meeting during the annual ASPA National Conference, with a term year of March 1 to February 28/29. Elected Officers and Executive Board members serve two-year terms. The Chair, Chair-Elect and Executive Board Members are elected just prior to the annual meeting of the Section, and the Treasurer and Secretary are appointed from among the membership (including the Executive Committee). No elected representative may hold more than one elected position.

If you are interested in providing service to the profession through any of these positions, please notify the current Chair so your name will be included in the nominations for the next ballot or appointments, as appropriate. We need your active engagement for a vibrant section!

Officer Board Terms: 2024 – 2026

Chair: Wendy Bolyard, University of Colorado Denver School of Public Affairs, CO wendy.bolyard@ucdenver.edu

Vice Chair and Chair-Elect: Brad Johnson, Assistant Professor, University of Nevada, Reno bradjohnson@unr.edu

Immediate Past Chair: Stephanie Dolamore, Assistant Professor of Public Administration,  Gallaudet University. Stephanie.Dolamore@gallaudet.edu  

Lois Warner, Associate Teaching Professor, Rutgers University, Newark. lmrs@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Treasurer: Theodore Byrne, California State University – Dominguez Hills  tbyrne@csudh.edu

Secretary: Mercy Umeri, Assistant Teaching Professor, Wichita State University, mercy.umeri@wichita.edu

Global Board Representative: John Diamond, Professor and Director for Public Policy and Professional Practice,  Edge Hill University, UK diamondj@edgehill.ac.uk

Board Member Terms 2023-2025
Michaela Abbott, Ph.D. Candidate, North Carolina State University, and editorial assistant of the Journal of Public Affairs Education meabbot3@ncsu.edu

Roseanne Mirabella,  Professor of  Political Science and Public Affairs Seton Hall University, Roseanne.mirabella@shu.edu

Del Bharath, Assistant Professor of Public Administration, Savannah State University,  bharathd@savannahstate.edu

Board Member Terms 2022 – 2024
Gregg Buckingham, School of Public Administration College of Community Innovation and Education, University of Central Florida, FL gregg.buckingham@ucf.edu 

Rachel Emas, Associate Teaching Professor, George Washington University  rachel.emas@rutgers.edu

Michael Orok, Interim Chair and Professor, Political Science, Alabama A and M, michael.orok@aamu.edu